Ruining Parties with Safety: Why I annoy my Facebook Friends

You know that weird guy at the party where you’re having a nice banter and people are cracking wise about a topic and the poor weird guy puts in his two cents–maybe with a little chuckle, or maybe with a grim face–and the joke is just over? And there’s an awkward silence until the nice person in the group thinks of something to say. And in the end, the weird guy just stands there as the group breaks up and wanders away gradually. I was totally that weird guy on Facebook the other day.

My friend–who happens to work as an outside contractor for nursing homes and independent living facilities–posted that the power went off in the facility where she was working that day and it made her wonder what she was supposed to do if she had had to evacuate the wheelchair-bound patients on the second floor without an elevator. (Curious? Check out this post for the answer.)

Let me just pause right here and say: I basically wander God’s green earth every single day hoping someone will talk to me about my studies. I never get this kind of opportunity. I mean, let’s face it, I basically wrote this blog so I could talk about my studies without people asking me about them, lol.

So right underneath the comment where someone had suggested parachutes as an evacuation method (My delivery is all wrong, you have to really picture the fat old granny in her pink, frilly nighty floating gently to the earth), I sent three hasty links answering her hypothetical question about how to evacuate immobile people over stairs. Suffice to say, there were no more jokes underneath my comment. (Whatever. I totally would have killed at an undertaker’s party. Heh….killed….)

I guess this is my life now. I face the sticky task of making safety fun. It’s my job to carefully balance humor, to make it palatable, and gravitas, to make it meaningful. I’m that weird guy at a party–too passionate to let an opportunity to do some good go by.

There are worse things to be.

By the way, I found this video while I was doing research for a more serious post which I think is hilarious. Watch it and tell me I’m wrong.

 

(I mean, come on! He so weirdly calm about evacuating someone and the music is so….elevator-y. Hehehehehe…… If you like this one, then you’ll love the 1950’s Nurse’s Training one. Talk about nerd heaven.)

What are you passionate about? Is it hard to get people to care about it? Let’s chat below!

What do YOU think?

